top of page

Chapter 6

I picked chapter 6 of the Bedford Book of Genres. Chapter 6 is Evaluating and Choosing Sources. I think that this is a good chapter because we are going into Project 2 which requires ten sources. I think that it’s interesting that the book says that every text we have ever encountered is a potential source because that is a different view than what I have heard before. Usually I hear that for the source to be credible it has to come from an academic site and preferably be peer reviewed. I like that the book says this because it opens up many sources that I wouldn’t be able to use in other situations. The chapter then went into the difference between general sources and academic sources and their differing purposes. It was a rather simple difference, general sources for general audiences and specialized sources for specialized readers. Even though it was simple I think that it shows how sources change depending on the audience and type of research you are conducting. I like how the book went into how primary, secondary, and tertiary sources can be used in both academic and general writing. It shows that every level of source is important when I always thought that primary sources were the best no matter what.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page